Wednesday, October 07, 2009

Walloon Brabant in Belgium

Waterloo is a Walloon municipality located in the province of Walloon Brabant, Belgium. On January 1, 2006, Waterloo had a total population of 29,315. The total area is 21.03 km² which gives a population density of 1,394 inhabitants per km².

One quarter of the current registered population are non-Belgian, most of whom work for institutions in Brussels, the capital of the European Union. Waterloo is home to St. John's International School, one of the largest and oldest international schools in Belgium. The European headquarters of MasterCard International is also located in Waterloo.

Walloon Brabant is a province of Wallonia in Belgium. It borders on province of Flemish Brabant and the provinces of Li├Ęge, Namur and Hainaut (Wallonia). Its capital is Wavre. It has an area of 1,093 km² and contains only one administrative district the Arrondissement of Nivelles, with 27 municipalities.

Walloon Brabant was created in 1995 when the former Province of Brabant was split into three parts: two new provinces, Walloon Brabant and Flemish Brabant; and the Brussels Capital Region, which no longer belongs to any province. The split was made to accommodate the federalization of Belgium in three regions

No comments: